Skip to content

BLOGGERS UNITE: Autism Sunday

February 14, 2010

Most of you are probably aware – unless you have been living in a cave for the last few months – that today is Valentine’s Day.  Having been single for eight Valentine’s Days in a row, I am choosing to ignore this fact.

Moving on, you are also probably aware, that it is also Chinese New Year.  This year it is the year of the Tiger.  My absolutely, most favourite beast in the whole world, like, ever.  I myself was born in the year of the Monkey.  I know you’re all stunned by that.  What do you mean, you can tell?!

What some of you may not be aware of, is that today is also Autism Sunday.  What is Autism Sunday?  It is an International Day of Prayer for Autism and Asperger’s Syndrome.  It always falls on the second Sunday in February, and I actually think it’s really unfortunate that today is also the focus for two other major celebrations – Autism Sunday doesn’t really stand a chance, does it?  So when I saw it featured on Bloggers Unite, I decided to write a post about it.  Most of you know why – Chipmunk was diagnosed with high-functioning ASD last year, so this is a cause that is very close to my heart.

I’m not asking for much of your time.  I’m not asking you to donate, or do a sponsored event, or go fundraising.  I don’t want you to buy anything, and you don’t even have to read down to the end of this post if you don’t want to.  All I’m asking you to do, is take just a moment to join me and others to remember the more than 60 million people affected by Autism worldwide.  One minute, to send up a prayer either for someone you know, or for those living with this in general, or for those whose lives are touched in any way – by caring for or working with those affected.  If you don’t pray, then please take that moment in quiet thought or contemplation.

If you do happen to have a little more time on your hands, and would like to learn more, you can visit the Autism Sunday page on Bloggers Unite:

If you live in the United States, you might like to find out more about the National Autism Association:

If you’re in the United Kingdom, I implore you to take a moment to visit the National Autistic Society.  They are wonderful and have been such a help to me since Chipmunk finally received his diagnosis.  There are many times I would have gone under, had it not been for them:

However you choose to mark Autism Sunday, I ask only that you do.  There are 60 million people around the world who will thank you for it.

To find out more about Bloggers Unite, what they do and the various causes they support, go here:

Oh, I nearly forgot.  As an aside, I just wanted to thank all of you for your unstinting support during the whole blog-migration thing!  Yes, it went smoothly enough, but if you guys didn’t come with me, then what would be the point?  So, I just want to let you know that you rock my world – in the best possible way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

