Skip to content

Chipmunk – A Budding Writer?

February 11, 2010

When I walked into Chipmunk’s classroom today, I was greeted by a smiling Mrs Jones.  She couldn’t wait to tell Chipmunk how fantastic his writing from the day before had been, how much she had enjoyed reading it and declared in front of the rest of the class that he was her “star writer”!  Needless to say, he was chuffed to bits.  When I picked him up this afternoon, I found that she had taken the time to photocopy Chipmunk’s work for me to bring home and read, so pleased was she with the quality of it.

So here, for your reading pleasure (and with Chipmunk’s permission) is the story that got her so excited!

Little Cat Goes to the Moon, by Chipmunk


“Mummy, please may I go to the moon?” asked Little Cat.

“No!  Anyway, you need to find a rocket first,” replied Mummy.

Soon, Little Cat found an old cardboard box in the shed.

“It’s perfect!” shouted Little Cat.  Afterwards, he found a blue plastic bowl for a space helmet.  Next, he looked in the cupboard and found a lovely strawberry cake, a can of Pepsi, a packet of salt and vinegar crisps and a can of coke.  Then he put all his stuff into his spaceship.  After that he went out into the garden, and with a BANG! and a ZOOM! he flew into the air.

A little bit later, a bat flew by.

“Where are you going to?” clicked Bat.

“I’m going to the moon,” replied Little Cat.

Then Bat climbed in and off they flew to continue their journey.  On and on their journey went.

After a while, they saw the moon.  Soon they arrived, and with a big BUMP! they landed on the moon.  After, one by one, they got out of the spaceship.

“Would you like to play football with me?” asked Little Cat.

“Yes, please!” replied Bat.

So they played football nearly all evening.  Sadly, it was soon time to go home.  So they said goodbye to each other and hoped to see each other again soon.  Then, they took off and headed back down to Earth.

After a long journey, he landed with a big BUMP!  Then, he went into the living room.

“Where have you been?” asked Mummy Cat.

“I’ve been to the moon,” replied Little Cat.

“You and your stories,” giggled Mummy Cat.  “Whatever next?…”

© Chipmunk, 2010

The picture above is of the original (well, photocopied!) manuscript.  The little hearts in the margins were drawn not by Chipmunk, but by Mrs Jones.  They show all the bits she was especially pleased with.  A couple of sentences even have a heart and a star!  Chipmunk is over the moon (no pun intended!) and I am really happy for him, and that she went to the effort of sharing this with me.  It looks like things are going to be ok now.

Incidentally, for those of you who missed it, or who don’t follow me on Plurk, Mrs Jones and I had a quick chat yesterday morning.  She thanked me for ‘the letter‘ and said it was “very good, very nice”.  She told me she often feels as though she puts her heart into her work and it is never appreciated, and that this was just one of those times.  The apology, while not spoken, was definitely implied – which is probably as good as it gets, and is certainly enough for me.  If it serves to improve our relationship, and therefore improve things for Chipmunk, then I’m happy – and so, I think, is Mrs Jones.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 17:44

    I’m dabbing my eyes reading this. How wonderful! What a great imagination, and excellent handwriting as well!

  2. NorthernLight permalink
    February 11, 2010 17:47

    Absolutely beautiful…the whole story about Chipmunk and his teacher…how things got better AND then there is Chipmunk’s story! So very well written…so vivid. I actually imagined myself in a little self-made spaceship traveling to the moon….a big applause goes to Chipmunk!!

  3. Gina Watson permalink
    February 11, 2010 17:49

    A chip off the old block as it were, no you are not a block. Seriously where has this confidence come from, swimming or wherever, Chipmunk seems to be making big strides, all thanks to your dogged persistence and patience and work in making sure everyone knows you only want the best for him. It shows that sometimes we have to do a slight detour to reach our destination, but to keep on, keeping on. You are both doing well, and you should both be pleased with the outcome. I am delighted for you both. Another emotional moment.

  4. Lizzie permalink
    February 11, 2010 17:52

    Oh. Wow. I love it! Plus the handwriting is excellent. I wish the teachers our kids have had would have photocopied some of their work for me. What a great teacher :))

  5. Yen Chong permalink
    February 11, 2010 18:12

    I am so pleased for Chipmunk. What a star he is!

  6. February 11, 2010 18:14

    What a star!

  7. February 11, 2010 20:56

    The writing talent must be genetic! Nurture it, guide it, encourage it….and there may well be two wonderful additions to the published world before long! He might even want to start a blog, or at least, a collection of his work, for all to see.

    Bravo, Chipmunk!

  8. February 11, 2010 22:57

    Wow! That was awesome!!! Good for Chipmunk! Thank you for the incredible feel good post 🙂 Congrats Chipmunk!

  9. Leonard Curtis permalink
    February 12, 2010 00:31

    Loved it! Give him my congratulations!

  10. pammysueme permalink
    February 12, 2010 02:17

    How incredible…to read honest thoughts and feelings from young ones before we “adverb, pronoun & subject” them out of it!! I loved this!

  11. February 12, 2010 05:25

    oh my goodness, he is SO talented!!! I Loved it!!

  12. Valpak permalink
    January 6, 2011 19:23

    Aw! Thanks for sharing that little cutie pie and super-sweet story!

Leave a Reply

