Skip to content

What to Do With My Cottage Pie?

February 10, 2010

A fly-by post today, as I don’t have very much time to play.

*Boo, Hiss*

No, it’s for a good reason – Chipmunk has swimming tonight, and he is really, really excited about it:  “Swimming tonight?  Yay!  I love swimming!”  Try getting that reaction out of him a few weeks ago!  So yes, while I will miss you all horribly, the lack-of-blogging-time is a good thing, for once.  Try to cope without me for the rest of the evening.

Before I go, I just wanted to ponder something with you.  While reading the cooking instructions for the ready-made cottage pie I’m heating up for dinner…Sorry, what?…Do.  Not.  Judge.  Me.  I told you, time is of the essence!  Anyway, I was reading the instructions when I got to the final one.  And couldn’t quite believe what I was reading:

“Once cooked, serve.”

*Blink*

*Blink*

I’m sorry, but is that really necessary?  Are there actually people who wouldn’t serve it up when it was done unless explicitly ordered to by the cooking instructions?  What would they do with it?  Stand and stare at it for the next ten years?  Wait for it to grow legs and take itself to the table?  Die of starvation while waiting for someone – anyone – to tell them what to do next?  Because, seriously, if you need instructions like that, I would gently suggest that maybe you shouldn’t be using potentially dangerous appliances such as the oven in the first place.

Oh crap.  You see?  I start rambling on and then I make myself late!  And with that, I bid you goodbye.  Don’t forget to serve up your meals when they’re done…I’ll be checking!

Image courtesy jules:stonesoup
7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 17:10

    Maybe the manufacturers think people will just take photos of it once it’s cooked? 🙂 Have a wonderful time at the pool!

  2. February 10, 2010 18:17

    wow, that looks amazing! Yummy!

  3. February 10, 2010 18:18

    I was already laughing, and then I read David’s reply. 🙂

    Have fun at swimming!

  4. February 10, 2010 18:50

    I want some!

  5. realmom permalink
    February 10, 2010 21:21

    Did you know there are directions on the POPTARTS box??

  6. February 10, 2010 22:35

    I am thinking is “Once cooked, serve.” a caveat for insurance purposes, allowing the manufacturer to enter the plea of “prior to serving it wasn’t quite once’d or it was over once’d before it was served, in the event of a consumer suing for damages post-serving? (LOL)

  7. February 11, 2010 21:03

    That does look tasty 🙂 As for the limitless stupidity of humans…I’m speechless.

Leave a Reply

