Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Chipmunk

February 6, 2010

Seven years today.

Seven years since we almost lost you.

Seven years since we almost lost me.

How the time flies.

Now, I could never imagine being without you.  You are not just part of my life.  You are my life.

I know you have your struggles, and I know you get frustrated – and I ache for you when you do.

But you are stronger than you know.  Your sense of humour can reduce the most po-faced of adults into fits of helpless giggles.  You are funny, and charming, and generous.  Kind, giving and selfless.  The ‘oldest’ child I have ever known.

These last seven years have been the hardest of my life.  But they have been the best of my life.

You complete me.  You make me whole.  You light up each and every day – even when you are grumpy!  Everyone falls in love with you, and you don’t even realise.

You are so special and I am so glad that you’re mine.

I love you from the bottom of my soul.  I promise that I will go on fighting for you for as long as you need me to, while trying to equip you with the means to be able to fight for yourself…as hard as that may be.  Hopefully, one day, you can stop fighting – and just live.  I know that you will be the best that you can be – and you can be anything you want to be,  Never stop believing.

I love you.

Happy Birthday, Chipmunk.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 17:56

    Happy Birthday, lad! Many many many happy returns 🙂

  2. February 6, 2010 18:22

    Many warm thoughts and wishes of happiness to the worlds best Chipmunk and his mother! Happy birthday little boy, hope it’s a wonderful day! 😀

  3. Lizzie permalink
    February 6, 2010 19:11

    I almost missed the link on Plurk about this as it’s been such a hectic day!

    Chipmunk – ‘ello cutie and I hope you’ve had the most excellent birthday! Lotsa love – from Lizzie and all of us here 😀

  4. February 6, 2010 19:16

    Happy birthday, Chipmunk! Wish you lots of happiness and good times today and ahead of you! Sending lots of hugs for both of you :).

  5. February 6, 2010 21:59

    I celebrate the day that one big heart gave birth to another. Congratulations to you both and Happy Birthday.

  6. February 6, 2010 22:22

    Happy birthday Chipmunk! I hope you have a beautiful year ahead!

  7. February 7, 2010 03:29

    That was beautiful 🙂

  8. February 11, 2010 21:29

    Chipmunk will treasure this tribute for years to come 🙂 Happy birthday, little man 🙂

Leave a Reply

