Skip to content

FELINE FRIDAY: Good Morning, My Friend

February 5, 2010

It’s been too long since my last Feline Friday post, so today I finally decided to live up to my constant promises and actually deliver!  I hope you enjoy sharing a glimpse into the life of my (rather odd) kitty…

Sometime around 7am, on a weekday of your choice.  Chipmunk is watching his favourite TV show from my bed, while I get up, wash, dress and make his lunch.  I come back up the stairs to this:

Now, Chipmunk and the kitty have always had kind of a love-hate relationship.  Chipmunk does love kitty, and likes it when he is close…as long as he is not too close.  Then, Chipmunk tends to give a little squeal and run around the room with a cry of “Eek!  Kitty is trying to catch me!”.  Invariably, kitty has been taking a nap in the middle of the floor, and has finally gotten fed up with Chipmunk’s constant running up and down (I believe it’s called ‘stimming’ by those in the know as far as autism goes) so he takes a good-natured swipe at him.  Chipmunk then freaks out and refuses to speak to kitty for a day or so.

However, Chipmunk often complains that kitty won’t come and sit on his lap, and he enjoys stroking him while he is sleeping.  Hearing a contended “Aww, look at the kitty” is not uncommon.  So yes, a love-hate thing for sure.  I guess kitty has decided now that he is going to make a bit more of an effort, and so is going to keep Chipmunk company in the mornings!  Either that, or he saw an opportunity for getting onto my bed without being told off.  Hmm…let’s not go there for now!

Kitty started off at the far end of the bed, by Chipmunk’s legs.  Then, he decided this wasn’t quite good enough.  He looked at the spot next to Chipmunk for a while, debating his next move.

Then…

KITTY:  Excuse me, Master Chipmunk.  You don’t mind if I nonchalantly sidle up the bed a bit, do you?  Only, that spot right there looks mighty comfortable, and I could do with a nap…

CHIPMUNK (staring at the ceiling): *Sigh*  Good morning, kitty.

The result?

CHIPMUNK (still looking at the ceiling):  Kitty, you have to move, I need to get up.

KITTY:  Comfy, this bit, isn’t it?  Let’s snuggle…  *Gentle cat-snoring commences*

CHIPMUNK:  *Sigh*  Mummmyyy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 20:48

    sweet, very sweet :))

  2. February 5, 2010 22:07

    So cute!!!

  3. February 11, 2010 21:36

    Nice that they can co-exist peacefully, even if one of them is sleeping! lol Cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

