Skip to content

Strange Snow and Accident Central

February 1, 2010

Today started off in a fairly normal way.  By normal, I mean normal for us, obviously.  Which is probably not normal by anybody else’s standards.  But I digress.  So, there we were – rushing around the house (to clarify:  I was rushing, Chipmunk was meandering slowly, being distracted by pretty much anything and generally driving my blood pressure even higher), getting everything ready for school, and heading for the car.  It was a cold day, necessitating de-frosting of the car, but nothing to write home about.  Or blog about.

The drive in to the village started off pretty normal, too.  The dual-carriageway was busy, but not hectic, as we had managed to leave in plenty of time.  The road into the village was busy, but moving steadily.  Everything was fine, in fact, until about halfway along that road – the only road through the village.  Then we reached the halfway point, and things started to get…well…weird.  Suddenly, out of nowhere, everything was covered in what looked like a heavy frost.  Literally, we went from nothing to having to drive really carefully.  A car had obviously had an accident at one of the chicanes in the road, designed as a traffic-calming measure.  (All it actually does is encourage people to speed up to see if they can get through before the car coming the other way reaches the chicane.  As it is sited on a bend, where the road starts to dip downhill, where there is a complete blind spot, they invariably do not make it!).  Anyway, past the point of the damaged car, the road became really slippery.  In fact, my anti-lock brakes locked up completely and I lost control of the steering.  Luckily we were only going about 5 miles an hour, so I was able to cruise until I got the power back!

This was not the strangest part of the school run.  We drove up the hill to the school, and the frost began to look like a light dusting of snow.  When we got out of the car and saw it properly, it became even odder.  The frost, or snow, or whatever-the-heck it was, looked like little balls of polystyrene.  Teeny-tiny, perfectly round balls of white powder.  It was truly bizarre.  Walking across the playground, the stuff was sparkling and shimmering silver-white in the sunlight.  It was beautiful, but somewhat unsettling in its almost ethereal nature.  I know I have never seen anything like it before.

Driving back home through the village, the traffic was at a standstill.  I realised that the police were parked behind the car from the earlier accident, as I could see the blue lights flashing from where I was at the bottom of the hill.  Then, I noticed that this wasn’t actually the cause of the hold-up.  Closer to me, a motorcycle had managed to collide with a bicycle.  I don’t think anyone was hurt, but some other drivers were helping the motorcyclist out of the road.  The police officer must have noticed what was going on, as he had to negotiate his way out from behind the accident-damaged car, down the hill to this new accident.

Once I was out of the village, I thought everything would be returning to normal.  Apparently not.  As I drove along the dual-carriageway towards home, I realised a sports car was in the ditch at the side of the road, brake lights still on, steaming gently.  There was another car and people there, so I decided it was safer to keep going than stop and add to the confusion, especially as it seemed everyone was safe – but what a surreal day!

And on the school run this afternoon?  Everything was dry and sunny.  All trace of the snow/frost/whatever had completely vanished, and all was once again right with the world.

I promise I didn’t imagine it!

Photo courtesy tuchodi
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina Watson permalink
    February 1, 2010 20:49

    There was snow in East Preston this morning at 5am I was up and did not see anything here, but I had a phone call from someone in the village and they went to gettheir newspaper and it was snowing.

    Do you ever feel that you live in a parallel universe.

  2. February 1, 2010 21:03

    That’s just odd., especially the consistency of the snow.

  3. tndaisy1960 permalink
    February 1, 2010 21:56

    That “snow” was some kind of weird government experiment! lol They’re out to drive us all insane!

  4. Lizzie permalink
    February 1, 2010 23:07

    We had that polystyrene style snow a couple of the nights when Michael was about. I looked it up and apparently it’s called graupel and comes in ice or snow varieties!

Leave a Reply

