Skip to content

MY WEIGHT: The First Weigh-In

January 28, 2010

I was at the gym today, quietly minding my own business, when I noticed them.  There, on the floor in the corner of the room they sat.  Calling to me.  Demanding that I go over to them.  Refusing to be ignored.

Despite this, I tried really hard.  I focused on the music blaring from the TV.  I focused on the Wave machine.  I focused on my heart rate and the lights monitoring my time goal.  But it was too late.  I had seen them.  I knew they were there, and there was no escape.

I finished my (newly extended!) workout and used my electronic key to check out.  I had burned over 100 calories more than the last time I went – good stuff.  I turned to go and get my things from my locker.  I stopped.  It was no good, they weren’t going to let me off that easily.  I sighed, and turned to walk over to the corner of the room where they sat.  Acting all innocuous.  Pretending that they hadn’t aroused my curiosity and an irresistable urge to find out.

Reluctantly, I removed my trainers and stepped on.  I tried not to look down, but resistance was futile.

I peeked.

I did a double-take.

I looked more closely, not daring to believe what the scales were telling me.

Since my first post, on the 17th January – just eleven days ago – I have lost half a stone!  Well, a little over half a stone actually.  In fact, I have lost a grand total of eight pounds!

*happy dance*

Now, I know I will not be able to maintain this speed of weight loss – that this is just the first downhill bit before it hits a plateau – but I don’t care!  I’m really pleased!  Especially as I have only been going to the gym once a week because Chipmunk has been off school – I hope to go three times a week now.  Also, I really haven’t amended my diet too much yet, although I am trying to stick to healthier options.  Tonight, I made a lasagne with low-fat garlic bread.  (I think the garlic bread was so-called because they waved the bruschetta in the general direction of some garlic butter, rather than actually dabbing any on there!).  It was yummy – a good celebratory meal!

Here’s to the next weigh-in…


14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 18:42

    Yippee! Well done Hannah. xx

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 29, 2010 11:22

      Thanks, lovely – and Happy Birthday! x

  2. January 28, 2010 18:50

    That’s excellent progress! Good for you!

  3. January 28, 2010 19:14

    Well done, Hannah! I’m proud of you!

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 29, 2010 11:22

      Thank you, dear David *hugs*

  4. January 28, 2010 19:19

    **APPLAUSE** Congratulations!! Very very well done!

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 29, 2010 11:23

      Thanks Claudia – I just hope I can keep it up!

  5. Mum permalink
    January 28, 2010 20:20

    Brilliant!!! xx

  6. NorthernLight permalink
    January 29, 2010 00:06

    I need your motivation! Congrats Hannah…you’re doing such a great job!!

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 29, 2010 11:28

      Thanks Chris – hopefully my motivation will not desert me any time soon!

  7. Gina Watson permalink
    January 29, 2010 18:37

    Well done I have obviously missed this when it was written, Go girl go girl.

Leave a Reply

