Skip to content

National Geographic Pictures of the Year (part three)

January 25, 2010

Right on schedule (for once!) is the third and final batch of spectacular pictures from the National Geographic.  I hope you have enjoyed appreciating these pictures as much as I have.

So, that’s the lot.  Weren’t they fantastic?  My favourite here has to be the bear and the bee – although the fox in the last one is too funny.  He obviously really wants whatever is under that snow!  Which one do you like best?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 20:48

    so gorgeous! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 27, 2010 14:32

      They’re great, aren’t they? 😀

  2. January 25, 2010 20:53

    I love the first shot. You can’t tell what a reptile is thinking, can you? They’ve been here so much longer than us, too. The colours are fab, and cropping brilliant.
    I also applaude what you are about. Having just about survived rasing my own ADHD (with other problems) son any cause that supports autism is worth its weight in gold.

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 27, 2010 14:25

      Thanks for your comment – I love the colours in that shot too.

      And thanks for sharing about your son, too. My 6-year-old is autistic and hypermobile – the information that we have had from these organisations has been invaluable.

  3. January 25, 2010 21:00

    Baby seal and the mother. Mother seal has a cute satisfying look on her face 🙂

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 27, 2010 14:23

      She certainly does! She must be very proud of her baby!

  4. January 25, 2010 21:14

    I like the big fish coming out of the school. Can you imagine what the diver is thinking?

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 27, 2010 14:26

      I can, but I won’t print it 😀

  5. January 25, 2010 21:17

    I love the baby seal too! But you’re right, the fox is too funny

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 27, 2010 14:26

      I just want to know what it is that he’s after!

  6. January 25, 2010 21:30

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, they are sooo cute 🙂 I really love the seal and her baby! Adorable.

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 27, 2010 14:27

      Thanks for commenting – I visited your blog, it’s great! Bookmarked it straight away 🙂

  7. January 25, 2010 21:54

    Hey, what a fabulous array of photos!!!! Wow. thanks so much for sharing them. Personally I love the fox!!! I had a most amazing experience last week when we still had snow; 2 foxes came into the garden and were playing around in broad daylight….so unusual. I got fab footage of them gambolling about. The large fish coming face-to-face with the diver is brilliant and of course the baby seal is precious.
    Your blog is great by-the-way 🙂
    do have a look at mine if you wish….my nom-de-plume is notjustagranny
    Have a great day 🙂

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 27, 2010 14:29

      Thanks for leaving a comment – it must have been awesome to watch those foxes! Good that you managed to get shots of them, too!

      Thanks so much for your kind comments about my little blog, I will be sure to stop by yours too. 😀

  8. January 25, 2010 22:38

    Hi,

    I have some toy horses made of plastic that look like these. I imagine setting them carefully atop a crispy cracker to ‘stage’ this photograph.

    It was hard to choose; each one evokes so many responses. That is the magic of photography.

    Nicole Rigets
    BFA

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 27, 2010 14:30

      Yes, I agree – pictures are so versatile, and can mean different things to different people. I wish I could take a better shot, but I certainly enjoy appreciating them!

  9. ka'iulani permalink
    January 25, 2010 22:59

    It’s difficult to believe that some of these shots are real!! I must say, the manatee one really pulls on my heart strings! How long did it take for that to heal?!?

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 27, 2010 14:31

      Yes, it’s such a shame the injuries some of these creatures have inflicted upon them. They are such magnificent pictures too.

  10. January 25, 2010 23:26

    Excellent photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

