Skip to content

bubbleboo Gets a Guitar!

January 22, 2010

Wait.  Hang on.  I already have a guitar.  So, I guess the title of this post should really be:  ‘bubbleboo Gets a New Guitar’.  Whatever.  Let’s carry on, shall we?

So, I decided a while ago that I wanted a new guitar.  (I play acoustic, just so we all know what we’re talking about from here on in!).  The one that I have was given to me (by the guy who is now Chipmunk’s headmaster, as it happens!) when I was around ten years old.  It’s a nice guitar, in great condition.  It’s a Hohner – although none of my various guitar shopping searches this week have produced any by them.  It sounds ok, and it’s easy enough to play.  It’s done me right for almost 20 years.  Wow.  That’s scary.

Anyway, back to my story.  And this bit is going to sound really, really silly.  Just to warn you.  The guitar and I never really…clicked.  I told you it was silly.  But honestly, if you have something that you use all the time, for a hobby or work – be it a computer, an instrument, a pen if you’re a writer – you will understand what I’m getting at.  Or trying to get at and failing miserably.  It’s like that with the guitar.  I have always wanted one that I loved.  That was an extention of me.  That felt natural.  That was just mine.  I never had that with the second-hand one.

I am not knocking second-hand goods.  Some people find something amazing in a thrift store, or get a gift of a long-treasured item from a friend, and bond with it instantly.  That just wasn’t the case with the guitar.  And after (nearly) 20 years – there’s that shiver again – I felt it was time to get a guitar I could love.  So I started to browse.

And I fell in love.

It’s a Taylor 612CE Acoustic guitar.

It’s black.

It’s sparkly.

And it’s about £2,ooo over budget.

Crap.

Never one to let something like this get me down, I went back to a guitar that I had seen the previous day.  Those of you who follow me on Plurk will remember my grappling with whether or not to buy it.  Thank you all for your overwhelming encouragement – it was a pretty unanimous decision, I think!

For those of you who missed it – I bought the pink one.

It’s a Vintage VTG100PK Baby Travel Acoustic guitar.

Yes, it’s pink.

It’s also smaller than I’m used to, being actually somewhere between a ‘baby’ and a full-size – I say this because although it’s called a ‘baby’, it is slightly bigger than the one Chipmunk has.

But I figure this is good for storage.  It’s good for taking it with me when I travel.  It will also be easier for Chipmunk to relate when I attempt to teach him to play!

It arrived today, and it’s a lovely little guitar – and I’m really pleased with it.

And yes, @SundownerCowboy, I do have pink shoes.

In my heart of hearts?  I will always carry around the little disappointment about the Taylor.  I fell hard.  But at the moment, this little acoustic will do me just fine.  It’s pretty, it’s easy to play, and it’s mine.  And I love it, truly.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 19:34

    It’s gorgeous! I can’t wait until we’re playing your YouTube video

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 22, 2010 19:43

      I fear that may yet be some way off, Claudia! 😀

  2. January 22, 2010 21:09

    Pink Bubbleboo 😀

    I am sure that your new baby will bring much fun and joy to you and Chipmunk. Taylor will wait for you. May I suggest a “Taylor fund”… if you resolved just a few coppers from your purse to a jar each time you play your Pink Baby you will then be truly be playing for you true love… and it will soon add up.

    Have Fun…. Have Joy…. and keep those pinks shoes tapping!

  3. January 25, 2010 14:59

    mmm pink guitar…. very nice \m/

Trackbacks

  1. Learn Guitar » Blog Archive » bubbleboo Gets a Guitar! « A Thought Bubble or Two…

Leave a Reply

