Skip to content

A Unexpectedly Good Day

January 11, 2010

Following on from my interminable bad mood of the last few days, today was very busy, but actually very good.  This morning, I went for my induction at the gym.  I had one last year, but have lapsed somewhat since then and it has been a very long time since I attended.  Because of this, it was felt an induction was necessary – and I was glad of the refresher on how to use some of the equipment.

There was a big part of me that was dreading going to the gym today.  It’s actually a good thing I checked my diary, because for the last week I had been under the impression that my induction was tomorrow!  Anyway, the lack of preparation was probably a good thing, as it meant I didn’t have time either to cancel it, or to get too worked up about it in advance.  I am fine once I get going on things like this, but the anticipation always makes me panic a little bit.  Ok, a lot!

Once I started on the equipment, the instructor doing my induction quickly decided that I did not need her constant supervision.  She came over whenever I moved on to a new piece of equipment, but apart from that kept watch from a distance.  (Part of me was a little miffed at this, considering I had paid for the privilege of having another induction.  A bigger part of me was pleased that she considered me capable enough to be left to work out unsupervised!)  I have to say, I felt perfectly comfortable once I got going, and was very happy – especially as she trimmed the routine to just under an hour until I get used to going again.  When I finished, she told me that I seemed to have slipped easily back into the routine, and that she was happy for me to carry on and review the routine in six weeks or so.  Result!

On leaving the gym, I suddenly realised that I had a big soppy grin on my face – despite the fact that I was doing my best to remain upright while negotiating huge chunks of frozen car park!  I felt good.  No, I felt great!  Tired, yes.  But not the dreadful, all-consuming tiredness that has plagued me for months.  That was still there, in the background.  But the workout really gave me a lift that I have not felt for a long time.  Maybe there is light at the end of this tunnel, after all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina Watson permalink
    January 11, 2010 19:52

    Thrilled that it was a good experience and that it got the endorphins moving and an improvement. :
    Long may it continue.

  2. January 11, 2010 20:07

    You go Hannah! I love the refreshed feeling after a good exercise 🙂

Leave a Reply

