Skip to content

Snow Day

January 6, 2010

You may recall how, a few weeks back, I possibly might have mentioned something about how we hardly ever get snow. Something to do with our peculiar geography, and how – while all around us are snowed in – we always manage to avoid the worst of it. Today, I eat my words:

The above was the view from my back door this morning, at about 7.30.  This was the sight that greeted me when I peeked out of the front door:

Hmm…ok.  Thinking that going back to bed was the best option, but not knowing whether the school was open or closed, I duly switched on the radio.  I was just in time to hear the list of school closures – pretty much all of the schools in the county, bar Chipmunk’s.  Hmm…ok.  Now, last time we had snow, the Headmaster decided to open the school anyway.  We checked the internet for information.  Nothing.  And then…Eureka!  Check the school’s website!  This was a vain hope, given that there was probably nobody there, but – lo and behold – the school was CLOSED!  Hurrah!  Not that I was able to snuggle down under the duvet and go back to sleep, because by this point Chipmunk was up and bouncing around, full of the joy that only a Snow Day can deliver!

I had to go to an appointment this morning.  This was the church car park when I got there (yes, that’s my pile of junk car on the left):

Not too bad – a light dusting.  Walking to my appointment, the snow started to come down a little harder…

And by the time I was driving back home, it was doing this:

I had another appointment booked for this afternoon.  I cancelled it.  By that point, the roads were being covered in snow faster than they could be cleared!  So, the Chipmunk and I did the only thing we could reasonably do in such a situation.  We built a snowman!

Stepping into the cold:

Gathering the snow:

Et voilà…

His name is Stuart…

…Apparently!

Anyway, that was our day, pretty much!  This is the Chipmunk after freezing himself in the snow:

Cross your fingers for me for another Snow Day tomorrow, ok?!

(If you should wish to, you can check out more photos from today here!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 17:41

    Sorry about the rapid accumulation, but I love the pics of Chipmunk! He is clearly very enamored of the whole day off + play outside thing 🙂

    • bubbleboo permalink
      January 6, 2010 17:57

      He loved it – although he had very quickly ‘had enough’!

  2. January 6, 2010 18:03

    cute chipmunk ^_^. Nice pics too! I’m kinda hoping it’ll be warmer for me in the next days, but from the look of it… I see snow every single day of the weather forecast until next week >.<

Leave a Reply

