Skip to content

Christmas Eve

December 24, 2009

Oh my goodness, can it really be Christmas Eve already?  Where did the time go??  I think we’re just about ready for tomorrow, although I have no doubt that I will discover something vital that I have forgotten, and won’t be able to do anything about it!

This afternoon I finally managed to complete this week’s Writing Well Challenge – you can find it over at the Writer’s Block if you fancy a read and have nothing better to do on the day before one of the most hectic days of the year (ha ha!).

The white Christmas we had been promised by the weathermen seems to have dissolved into a fine drizzle, with slushy remnants strewn along the roadsides the only reminder of the snow we could have had.  Admittedly, I never expected that we would have snow, being protected as we are, but the blizzards of last week promised so much.  Instead, the snow compacted down into ice, causing eight times the number of injuries usually being seen at the hospitals at this time of year.  Now, it has all but disappeared, leaving behind the kind of damp cold that gets into your bones and makes it impossible to ever get warm.

But still, tomorrow is not about the weather, or the presents, or the organisation of activities.  It is not about the tree, or the decorations, or the Christmas dinner.  It is about the birth of our Lord Jesus.  The babe in the manger.  The reason for the season.  About family and friends – near and far.  So, tomorrow I shall be making time to think of others, to enjoy being with those I love.  I will think about those who give up their day to help others.  And I will thank the Lord for making the whole thing possible.  I hope you all have a joyful, peaceful and blessed Christmas, wherever you are and whoever you are with.  Take the time to enjoy it.  Don’t forget to let those you love know how much they mean to you.  You all mean the world to me.

Merry Christmas

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 24, 2009 19:01

    Hugs to you and Chipmunk!

Leave a Reply

