Skip to content

Christmas Shopping

December 21, 2009

Today, the Chipmunk and his father and I went into town to do some last little bits of shopping.  Chipmunk had decided he wanted some fairy lights for around his bed (for always, not just for Christmas) so we went on a hunt.  Unbelievably, the out-of-town supermarket (which had loads of shelves filled with Christmas lights a few days ago) now had none left at all.  I know it’s a bit late to be buying them, but still – nothing??

Undeterred, we headed into town – supporting the local shops and all that!  First, we tried the hardware store – no luck.  Then, I had a stroke of inspiration.  There is a tiny little furniture store in the high street and I was sure that I had seen lights of some description in there.  I knew the furniture in there was bespoke and therefore very overpriced, but we had promised the Chipmunk some lights and I was determined to find him some!  We went in and asked, and lo-and-behold, on a shelf beside the counter, was a whole stack of lights!

They are not typical fairy lights, but I think that might be for the best, as he wants them up all year round.  The man in the shop was recommending the Chinese lantern-style lights, but the Chipmunk had already spotted something else, and he set his heart on it in about two seconds flat!  This is what he chose:

They are beautiful hand-crafted Thai fairy lights, in the shape of butterflies, dragonflies and other pretty winged insects.  Chipmunk just adores them, so they will be going up in the bedroom in the next couple of days!

Chipmunk was also treated to a few other things today while we were in town, and he knows he has many Christmas gifts to look forward to this week.  So what happened on the way back to the car was incredibly refreshing and something that many six-year-olds would not even think about.  Sitting in the doorway of a disused shop (there are several of those in our town now) was a man who was obviously homeless.  He had an empty coffee cup in front of him, and was playing an old penny whistle.  As we walked past, he started to play ‘Little Donkey’ – a favourite carol of both the Chipmunk’s and mine.  All at once, I felt a tugging on my arm and realised that the Chipmunk had stopped walking and was looking over at the man.  “Please, Mummy, can we give him some money?” he asked me, looking beseechingly at me with those wonderful, pleading eyes.  How could I say no?  I rooted around in my purse and managed to find a little loose change.  The Chipmunk, who usually will not go anywhere near people he knows, let along strangers, walked over to the man.  Without waiting to see if I was following him, he leaned over and dropped his money into the man’s empty cup.  The man stopped playing and stared up from the cold floor at the little boy in the bobble hat who was standing before him.  “Thank you,” he said softly.  “Merry Christmas to you.”  Chipmunk grinned and waved at him, before running back to me and walking on towards the car park.  After a short pause, the man continued playing his song.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2009 18:49

    I’m having to stop myself crying at this post, Hannah. How wonderful and beautiful on all fronts!

  2. Gina Watson permalink
    December 21, 2009 19:21

    Lovely story such a sensitive flower your chipmunk very mooving.

    I love the lights would not mind those myself.

  3. tndaisy1960 permalink
    December 22, 2009 00:16

    That he would go up to a stranger and interact with him is truly amazing! What a lovely present for *you*! I don’t do that, and I’m 49!

  4. December 22, 2009 19:36

    Wow…

    He certainly seems to be touched by the Christmas spirit, and it’s sweet. That had to give you a ‘Proud Mommy’ moment. =) And one can only imagine what the homeless man felt… Such a warm story!

    I’m almost speechless.. =)

    • bubbleboo permalink
      December 22, 2009 21:33

      Thank you so much for your comment – he certainly is a special little guy, and not just because he’s mine! He sometimes seems to sense things, connect with people and animals in a way I’ve never seen. He’s usually so closed off, so this was really special 🙂

Leave a Reply

