Skip to content

MY TOP TEN… Christmas Songs

December 19, 2009

Having spent most of today shopping and out to lunch with Chipmunk and his father, I have had precious little time to think up a post for today.  In the spirit of NaBloPoMo though, instead of missing a day I have decided to share another of my Top Ten’s with you all.  This time it is Christmas songs (not Carols – I know you know there’s a difference!).

Here they are, in no particular order:

  1. Let it Snow – Vonda Shepard
  2. River – Robert Downey Jr.
  3. Hallelujah – Hillsong Australia
  4. Silver Bells – Vonda Shepard
  5. Fairytale of New York – The Pogues feat. Kirsty MacColl
  6. Do They Know It’s Christmas? – Band Aid/Band Aid II/Band Aid 20 (I know it’s lame, but you can’t have Christmas without it!)
  7. White Christmas/Peace on Earth – Bing Crosby and David Bowie
  8. Mary’s Boy Child – Boney M
  9. Saviour’s Day – Cliff Richard (Christmas without Cliff?  Never!  And at least I didn’t pick Mistletoe and Wine!)
  10. Bless Us All – From ‘A Muppet Christmas Carol’, performed by Tiny Tim (a.k.a. Jerry Nelson)

So there you have it, my Christmas selection!  A shame I could only pick ten – about halfway through I realised I was never going to be able to have all my favourites on the list!  I am aware that many of the songs have been recorded many times, by many different people.  The artists I mention are the ones whose version of the song really touched me, or the one I like the best.  A purely personal thing!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2009 17:35

    Nice choices. I have this strange obsession with jazz Christmas music. I do enjoy all the other music as well, but any of the Harry Connick Jr. stuff really gets me going.

    ~ C.H.
    Music news, artist reviews, and upcoming songs at the new Decibel Blog.

  2. stuckinmypedals permalink
    December 7, 2010 05:16

    I was just blogging about the same thing and was routed over here. Love, love, love Robert Downey Junior singing River with Vonda Shepard. Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

