Skip to content

Happy Birthday to Me!

December 13, 2009

Yes, in case you didn’t guess from the title of this little post, today is my birthday.  It’s my 29th birthday, actually, although I am trying very hard not to think about hitting the big 3-0- next year!  Today was spent quietly with my family, relaxing and enjoying the day.  I had some fabulous presents from some wonderful people, who know to always check my Amazon wish list before buying anything!

My most excellent presents this year were:

Barack Obama – Dreams From My Father … Can you believe I still haven’t read this yet?  Now I have no excuse!

Carlos Ruiz Zafon – The Shadow of the Wind … A nice, big book with a promising storyline and the potential to get lost in it for hours!

Hillsong Australia – Faith + Hope + Love … The newest CD from Hillsong, courtesy of my parents.  Straight into the car stereo!

But the best present of all?  The one that outdid all the others?  (Apart from the Chipmunk’s lovely gifts of a magnet,  key-ring “for your car keys, Mummy” and coaster, that is).  It was this:

She-Ra, Princess of Power (feat. He-Man) – The Secret of the Sword … What?  Why are you laughing?  Shut.  Up.  Seriously, it was a fantastic present.  As a kid, I loved He-Man and She-Ra.  I had the dolls, the accessories, the clothes…

See?  I loved everything about it!  Today, I snuggled up on the couch with Chipmunk and watched the whole DVD – almost an hour and a half – from beginning to end.  This is almost unheard of for Chipmunk, who usually struggles to concentrate for that long.  I loved it.  He loved it.  It took me back to being that 6-year-old kid again – I could remember the storyline, remember some of the dialogue even!  Yes, this present was amazing on so many levels.  Thank you, Gina!

And a great, big, huge hug and a kiss to everyone who left such kind, thoughtful and generous messages for me on FaceBook, Plurk and elsewhere.  I am truly blessed to have such amazing friends.  To those of you on FB who donated to Think Autism on my behalf today, I thank you most of all.  I think I can say, without any doubt, that today was my best birthday in a long time – because of the people who made it so special.

Now, if only I still had those She-Ra dolls…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina Watson permalink
    December 13, 2009 22:54

    I am so glad that you had a wonderful quiet birthday enjoying a video sorry |I couldn’t remember what I bought but put it down to old age and stress. Glad I got it right and you were able to enjoy it with Chipmunk.

  2. December 13, 2009 23:51

    A wonderful person like you deserves a wonderful birthday!

  3. MysticFirefly permalink
    December 14, 2009 00:03

    So happy to see you enjoyed yourself!! You a truly a wonderful person…just like David said already!!

Leave a Reply

