Skip to content

A Round-Up

December 5, 2009

In the absence of any inspiration for a ‘proper’ post, I thought I would just quickly summarise anything of minor interest that I may have neglected to mention before now.  Here goes:

  • Firstly, the Chipmunk’s Physiotherapy appointment on Friday went really well.  She thinks that he is very hyper-mobile (no kidding!) and is also incredibly tentative.  She queried whether he has a problem with his binocular vision, although that was tested last month and found to be normal.  She describes him as being like a piece of elastic – he does everything in a very stiff manner, because once he loses that tension he just goes completely floppy.  For example, he can’t go from standing up to crouching, because he can’t stop himself once he starts to move, he lacks the muscle tone and over-extends all his joints.  (I had to stop myself laughing at this point, because the physio – a tiny, grey-haired woman, not at all what I was expecting – was doing a demonstration in the middle of the room as she was describing all this to me!).  The upshot is, that he needs to stay in the Jump Ahead group at school, which works on both gross and fine motor movements.  She will also try to get him in to an after-school Physio group to work on building muscle strength.  At the moment though, it means lots of swimming, trampolining and practising balance!
  • Secondly, I had a call yesterday to say that my car would not be ready until this morning, because the wrong part had been sent from the factory.  Fine, says I, Saturday will be okay to pick it up.  So today I get a call – the van delivering parts to all the dealerships along this part of the coast has broken down!  No car for me again today!  To be fair, the guy on the phone was very apologetic, and they have offered to bring the car out to me instead of me having to go and pick it up, which is nice.  Hopefully I will have it back by the end of Monday at the latest!
  • Thirdly – and probably finally – I have reluctantly decided to put my NaNo novel to one side for the time being.  Try as I might, I just cannot seem to get back into the flow of it to be able to finish it off and then go back to edit the life out of it!  Maybe it is because I worked so much on it for that month, that I’m just all novelled out for now.  I am still jotting down notes for it as I think of them, and the storyline is always at the back of my mind, ready to be picked up again when I feel more like it!  For now, I have another idea which I am working on developing.  I don’t know whether it will be a short story or another novel, but I like my character and I have the rough edges of a plot sketched out already.  You just may have to wait a little longer for the NaNo novel to hit the bookstores!

I think that’s just about all for now.  Nothing else of interest seems to be going on in this boring little life of mine!  Until tomorrow…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2009 16:34

    1. Awwwwww (loved the image of a granny jumping around!)
    2. (angry) for you! I hope they bring you a box of chocolates as well as the car come Monday!
    3. Take your time—we’re patient, and it’s best not to rush into these things 🙂

    And copious (cozy) to you and Chipmunk!

  2. December 5, 2009 16:47

    What amazes me is that you find great solutions to every situation! Congratulations on all your updates! I hope that everything turns out exactly how you would like it to!

  3. tndaisy1960 permalink
    December 5, 2009 18:32

    Sounds like you’ve had quite a week of it! You know quite well I can relate! Hope things get back to some semblance of “normal” for you very soon! It’s hard to be creative when all you can think of is “real life”, so when your mind is more settled, you’ll be drawn back to it once more.

    Hugs all ’round.

  4. Gina Watson permalink
    December 5, 2009 20:49

    Another week of adventure for you….maybe not what you were wanting you do cope well with it shame you have to spend so much energy fighting for everything wouldn’t it be nice if something went right first time!

Leave a Reply

