Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: The End?

November 28, 2009
tags:

Well, I did it.  I finally, finally did it!  In the last ten minutes, I have submitted my manuscript to the NaNo word counter.  The official verdict?  52,211 words exactly!  I am amazed.  No, I am astounded!  I guess that one advantage of coughing my lungs out of my body every time I lay down to sleep, is that I end up sitting up and typing instead!

I would like to take this opportunity to share with you my delight at being one of the few NaNo winners – and also my joy at being supported by some of the most wonderful people anyone could ever care to meet.  You guys are the best, and even if I hadn’t made the 50,000 I know that I would still have been a winner just for having all of you around me.  This is for you:

When uploading my novel, I noticed that there is a section on the same page to post an excerpt from the book.  I did so, and for those of you who were intrigued by my first few paragraphs or who just want a little taster of the book, here is the excerpt I chose to post:

We are in what appears to be a densely wooded area, some kind of forest maybe. The trees are closely packed together and shut out much of what little light there is from the moon. Their thick foliage is like a cloak all around us, almost suffocating in its density. Nothing seems to be growing on the ground, probably because there is no sunlight managing to break through the canopy above. There are no flowers, no animals that I can see. Just the trees, looming large above us. I imagine that even in daylight, this place would still be dark and oppressive. I stand very still and listen, straining to hear any kind of noise, but silence is all there is. Not even the hoot of an owl to signal to me that this place supports any kind of life other than itself. A chill runs down my back and I shiver involuntarily. Nowhere has ever managed to make me feel as uncomfortable as this place does and I am not sure that I would feel any different if the sun was blazing down on me – I would still feel cold here. Ben comes to stand beside me and places his arm around me. He has seen me shivering and is trying to warm me. He bends down so that his head is level with mine, and points slowly to a spot far away in the distance in front of us, encouraging me to look beyond the forest. Squinting, I follow the direction his finger is pointing, through a gap in the trees to something far in the distance, almost on the horizon. When I do this, what I see takes my breath away.

Now, my story is not finished by any means.  In fact, I doubt that I am even halfway through.  I have a lot of bits to add in that I skipped over whenever I got stuck.  I have a lot of unnecessary waffle, repetition and needless quotation fixations that my characters tended to develop whenever I was having a panic about my lack of word count.  And there is much, much editing to do.  And you know what?  I am looking forward to – nay, relishing the opportunity to spend the next few months (years?) polishing my book up to perfection.  It is very much a work in progress, and one thing that I can absolutely say for sure is this:  For this story, it is definitely not The End.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 28, 2009 17:55

    Congratulations, Hannah! (cozy)

Leave a Reply

