Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: The Plot Thickens

November 24, 2009
tags:

Okay, so in my last post about NaNo, which was around this time last week, you may recall that I was absolutely committed to hitting 40,000 words by Sunday. As in last Sunday.  As in two days ago.  You can probably guess from my protracted waffling that I may not have quite managed to hit that target.  And you would be right.  I missed it.  Spectacularly.  (Never let it be said that I do anything by halves – if I am going to fail, I will fail in the most brilliant way possible).

There are many reasons for the predicament I am now in.  Some of them are self-inflicted, of the Plurk/FaceBook/GoogleReader variety.  Others are not of my own making, but are things that have nevertheless managed to derail my writing almost completely, including Chipmunk’s illness and my own devastatingly incapacitating reaction to the H1N1 (swine flu) vaccine.  That is a whole other post in itself.  You would be forgiven for thinking that as my word count right now stands at a paltry 11,533 and there are only 7 days on NaNo left to go, I would be throwing in the towel.  Those of you who actually know me are probably getting ready with your commiserations as I type.  Well, you can just hang on to them, thank you very much!  And as I reluctantly sat at my computer and gazed at the depressingly blank screen yesterday, something amazing happened.  Whether it was the combined effect of several painkillers/anti-inflammatories/anti-histamines and various other medications – along with my almost complete exhaustion from many sleepless nights – or whether it was just my own imagination finally coming to life, I cannot say.  All I know for sure, is that the book is starting to write itself.  I have gone from having a MC who did not want to be there – seriously, she was ready to kill herself off she was that desperate to get out of my book – to moving the story so far forward that she has started her adventure in earnest!  Now, I know that there is a long way to go.  40,000 words is a lot of catching up to do in only seven days.  I have been umm-ing and ahh-ing about whether to continue for the last two days, even as my fingers have been flying across my keyboard with fresh vigour and enthusiasm.  And then, I reached my decision.

I am not giving this thing up.  Aside from the fact that I am a desperately aspiring writer who needs to finish this thing to prove to myself that I am capable of writing fiction, there are a large number of other reasons why I am going to see this through.  I need to prove to myself that I can beat my Autistic tendencies and be able to focus on it for long enough to get it done.  I need to show that with a little…okay, a lot…of procrastination and several coffee breaks, I am just as capable as the next person of producing a 50,000 word novel.  And darn it, I want those Winner’s Goodies!  It may not be good.  It may not even be readable.  But this time next week, dear friends, it will be written.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina Watson permalink
    November 25, 2009 01:13

    I am so glad that you are persevering you have it in you and it will be terrific. I will sponsor you will talk about it at the end of the month give you chance to write and need to talkto you re birthday present but again have your time to be creative this month and speak soon, I have tried not to disturb you this month love you lots keep going.

  2. November 25, 2009 21:14

    Bravo! I just love your tenacity and decision on stick-to-it-tiveness 🙂

Leave a Reply

