Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: The Quest Begins

November 4, 2009
tags:

And so it began.  On Sunday evening, I sat at my computer and bashed out my first 1667 words of complete drivel brilliance.  By day two I was already 400 words ahead and confidently hitting my stride.  Cut to day four – for those who have trouble with dates and the like, that would be today!  By today, I had foreseen myself relaxing with my comfortable word cushion that I had managed to build up.  There would be no need for rushing, no blind panic as my fingers became a blur across the keyboard, desperately trying to make my word target for the day.  So, how am I doing?  Well, to be honest, I think the words that are generally used in a situation like this are:  EPIC FAIL.  This morning, as I sat at my computer, I was just shy of 2,000 words behind.  Um, oops.

There is a reason for this, I promise!  Everything was going swimmingly until yesterday.  Yesterday turned into one of those days where absolutely everything that can go wrong, does go wrong.  One of those days that you just have to write off (pardon the pun!) because you know it’s going to be a complete disaster.  One of those days where you just want to crawl back into bed, pull the duvet up over your head, and pretend that the rest of the world doesn’t exist.  I knew before I even got up that getting any writing in was going to be a tough call.  I wouldn’t be able to get into my writing stride in the morning, because I had to meet the Chipmunk and his class at the swimming centre right after lunch, which involves leaving the house 2 hours before I would usually have to.  Then after school – like every Tuesday – Chipmunks’ BFF, Tabitha, was coming over.  That was fine, she is usually gone by just after 6p.m. so I figured I could write in the evening.  Unfortunately, her mum was held up at work, and Tabitha ended up leaving us at almost 7p.m.  This, of course, threw the whole evening out of kilter, the upshot of which was that I collapsed into bed and accidentally fell asleep – a sleep which lasted the whole night!  (Those of you who know me, will know that this almost never happens).  I guess I must have needed the sleep, but as far as I am concerned, the need to write was greater!

So, with yesterday a complete and utter failure as far as writing was concerned, I decided to catch up today.  Unfortunately, I began with a problem to solve.  One of my characters, who I was planning to bring back into the story at a later point as a useful plot device, decided instead (rather inconsiderately, I might add) that she would rather be killed off.   And not just a quiet, unobtrusive death.  Oh no, she was going to go out in style thank-you-very-much-writer-ma’am!  So, not only do I have a dead character where there should have been a very-much-alive best friend, I now have a whole murder/violence/evil elf sub-plot going on…stay with me guys, I will make it work!  I just haven’t quite figured out how yet…

Oh, and for those of you that were wondering:  Yes, I am still behind.  Not by so much as I was this morning, but I see a late night in my not-too-distant future.  I’ll keep you updated as to my lack of progress as the days and weeks pass by.  Wish me luck!

nano_09_red_participant_100x100_1

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tndaisy1960 permalink
    November 4, 2009 19:07

    Well, as I told His Royal Majesty this morning: “stuff” happens, so just wipe it off your shoe and run along 🙂 You’ll get it done somehow because you’re so motivated!

    *hugs*

    T

  2. November 4, 2009 19:37

    I have every confidence you’ll not only catch up, but you’ll come up with a brilliant answer to the problem of death! You can do it, Hannah. (cozy)

Leave a Reply

