Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: O.M.G. It. Starts. TOMORROW!

October 31, 2009
tags:

How did that happen?  A little less than six hours until the chaos commences!  Today, in preparation for the madness that tomorrow will unleash, I have been reading Chris Baty‘s ‘No Plot?  No Problem’ – a kind of how-to for NaNoWriMo by the guy who came up with the whole stupid insane brilliant idea in the first place.  As of this moment in time, I am not quite to the halfway point of the book.  Like I always say, there’s nothing like being prepared!

Obviously today I have been thinking a lot about how to tackle this and if I am ready.  And the answer I come up with – like most other WriMos, I suspect – is a resounding ‘NO!’  Yes, I have a rough idea of plot and some characters that are already up and running and wanting to get the chance to tell their story.  But research-wise, and planning-wise and pretty much everything else-wise I am woefully behind.  After reading Baty’s book I came to a wonderful, glorious conclusion:  You know what, kid?  It doesn’t matter.

It doesn’t matter that I have never even attempted something so ludicrous exciting before.  It doesn’t matter that I don’t have anyone locally to write with and guide me through.  It doesn’t matter that I have no previous knowledge of the subject of my novel.  Because NaNoWriMo is all about the experience.  The novel is simply a first draft.  A (very) rough idea to be tweaked and played with and edited and re-written to my heart’s content – AFTER November, obviously!  It is a chance to churn out 50, 000 words of complete drivel literary genius.  Most importantly, it is the chance to show myself, and those that I care about, that I am capable of completing this thing (and earn plenty of bragging rights in the process!).

While I may not have anyone physically close to me undertaking the challenge alongside me, three of my awesome Plurkies are also entering the mêlée.  Astrid, Amle and Perpelina – good luck, God speed – and let’s get this thing done!  Those of you who are my cheerleaders, I just want to tell you now that your support and bullying to get things done will be invaluable to me in the month ahead.  To my Plurkies, FaceBook pals and real-life friends and family, I apologise now for being – at various stages, or on some occasions all together – absent, distracted, stroppy (moi?), selectively deaf or temporarily insane.  To those of you who are planning to sponsor me, or who have already pledged, I am eternally grateful.  For those of you who cannot, just your encouragement is more than enough.

I promise to attempt to keep you updated on my progress (or lack thereof).  You may also find that I am blogging more than usual, as a way of delaying any actual noveling – procrastination has always been my strong point (just ask my mother).  And so I fling myself headlong into NaNoWriMo, knowing that whatever happens – whether I finish or not – I will have done my best, and I couldn’t have wished for better people to have along for the ride.

As Mr. Baty would say:  Write It!

nano_09_red_participant_100x100_1

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2009 19:00

    Good luck! I tried a couple of times before, but for various reasons wasn’t able to stick with it. Just being able to get through the month would be awesome.

  2. October 31, 2009 20:58

    Go for it! Remember, NaNoWriMo helps motivate you to create a workable and complete rough draft. Don’t worry about perfection; you can revise and edit later. Right now, go for the word count. Write down the bones! Go! Go! Go!

  3. November 1, 2009 18:19

    Have fun! I’m trying very hard to squash my inner editor this time around. I’m too much of a perfectionist, and keep wanting to fix things I’ve just written.

    (beckyo at NaNo, Becster at Plurk)

Leave a Reply

