Skip to content

WEIRD CRUSH #1: Michel Roux Jnr

October 24, 2009

In the first of this (very) occasional series I will admit to having a strange and rather all-consuming crush on the brilliant, two-Michelin-starred chef, Michel Roux Jnr.

Michel_Roux_Jnr2@feature

Michel, 49, first grabbed my attention as a judge on BBC2s MasterChef:  The Professionals. He is not to be confused with his equally brilliant, but possibly not quite as fanciable father, Albert Roux:  diningSecond and uncle Michel:  phpThumb_generated_thumbnail.jpeg

There is something about this man  yourfile that is just very, very attractive!

So let me try to figure out just what it is that makes him so…what’s the word?  Oh yes, sexy!  He is a brilliant chef, of course.  But not having a house to re-mortgage in order to be able to taste his food, that cannot be the reason for my attraction to him!  Watching him on MasterChef was a joy.  He was tough, yet supportive and encouraging with the contestants in equal measure.  His ‘serious face’ makes him look suave and austere, while his smile and laughter light up the room.  He has kind eyes.  And he has more innate class in his little finger than fellow ‘celebrity’ chefs such as Gordon Ramsay and Jamie Oliver have in their entire bodies.  His voice is as smooth as silk.  He appears genuine and charming, never assuming that he is better than anyone else – and modesty can be a greatly underrated quality in a man!

Usually, I am not at all attracted to men with beards (sorry guys, I know you are bitterly disappointed!).  When George Clooney or Brad Pitt grow a beard, I am immediately cured of my infatuation with them until they shave it off again!  So just what is it about Michel Roux Jr that makes me forgive even the facial hair?  In fact, while using Google to search for images of him, I actually found the ones where he has a beard to be more attractive than where he was clean-shaven.  Has the world gone mad?  Quite possibly, yes!  In the lack of any other reasonable explanation, I blame my weird crush on Michel Roux Jr on the heat of the kitchen sending me temporarily insane.  Yes, I did say temporarily – despite appearances this is not my usual state, ok?  OK?  Good, I’m glad we established that.

So there you have it.  My weird crush of the moment is the sublime Michel Roux Jr:

MichelJr

Please tell me I’m not the only one…Please?…Anyone?…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 20:09

    He is cute! He has a nice look about him—not just handsome, but there’s something in his appearance that makes you want to like him.

    • bubbleboo permalink
      October 24, 2009 22:06

      Exactly my feeling, David. He just seems really…well…nice! And that is too often a rare thing these days!

  2. October 24, 2009 20:48

    And I thought you fancied me!

    • bubbleboo permalink
      October 24, 2009 22:05

      Aww, I love you John, you know that!

      *mwah*

      Besides, this section is for weird crushes – you’re not weird, you’re quirky 😀

  3. October 24, 2009 23:22

    Ability, class, and good looks all in one package – no wonder you’re crushing on him! No, that’s not weird at all.
    (Gordon Ramsey has no class at all. None.)

  4. Shelley permalink
    January 13, 2011 21:09

    You are so not alone. I absolutely adore the man for all the reasons you state ❤

Leave a Reply

