Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: Not Long Now!

October 4, 2009
tags:

Could somebody please remind me why I am doing this?  Seriously.  Less than a month to go before the craziness begins and I am actually starting to panic!  Yes, I am excited and filled with nervous anticipation – I have even ordered a NaNo shirt to support the cause and get myself in the right frame of mind!  But still, the overwhelming sensation filling my being at the moment is sheer, blind panic.  I don’t know what I’m doing!  I am never, ever going to be ready in time.

This is my problem (or one of them – actually it’s just the most important one!):  I don’t know what I’m writing about.  I don’t mean that I don’t have any ideas.  You remember that awesome, magnificent idea that popped itself firmly into my head and refused to take its claws out of my brain until I agreed to use it for NaNo?  Well, it is still there.  In fact, it is evolving daily.  I am starting to really care about the characters and how their story will develop.  No, the issue I have is that I don’t know what I’m writing about.  It is completely different in almost every way from everything I have ever written in my life before!  It is not a genre I am particularly familiar with, nor one that I have ever had an interest in writing in before now.  I don’t know where to begin with my research, or what it is that I need to research.  I’m doomed!  This story is taking on a life of its own and dragging me kicking and screaming behind it – and we haven’t even started yet!

My other major headache is that I have suddenly realised just how much writing is involved in this thing.  Yes, I always knew it was 50, 000 words to complete.  Yes, I always knew it was a 30-day event.  No, I had never actually done the math!  In order to complete, I am going to have to waffle, on average, for about 2, 000 words per day!  Per DAY!  Granted, in the not-so-distant past I have been known (on occasion) to write a 5, 000 word essay from scratch, the night before it was due to be handed in, and still score an A grade.  But this is so not the same thing!  This is 2, 000 words per day for a month!  I think I’m going to be sick.

And no, I still haven’t figured out why I am doing this.  I’m just hoping that during the course of the event, the good will by far outweigh the bad.  Oh, and I’m also hoping that my characters know what they’re doing – because I certainly don’t!

(Incidentally, if you felt like you wanted to sponsor me, the link is over in the widget bar —–> but I certainly don’t expect it!)

nano_09_red_participant_100x100_1

10 Comments leave one →
  1. sandysays1 permalink
    October 4, 2009 15:32

    Knew a football coach who once said, “Bad players are worried about how much pratice time they’ll have to commit to, good ones are okay with it, the great ones want more.”
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. October 4, 2009 15:51

    Panic is a sign of brilliance 🙂

    Have you read books in the genre you’re going to write in? If so, I’d turn to a couple of them for ideas. Wikipedia and Google are godsends, of course, but you know that 🙂 Two thousand words a day is a lot, but I’ll bet you get back into the habit quickly. Don’t get overwhelmed if you don’t start right out at 2,000 a day—you’ll pick up as you get back into the swing of things!

    I, for one, look forward to seeing what you write about!

    • bubbleboo permalink
      October 4, 2009 16:13

      Thank you so much, David. I don’t reply to my comments much (as I should, I know – fail!) but I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you. You always take the time to read and respond, and your comments often pick me up and keep me going – you are a true friend and I am lucky to know you. *hugs*

  3. Amle permalink
    October 4, 2009 16:06

    I wrote about the same thing today on my blog, so don’t worry you’re not alone in the panic and uncertainty. (I would post a link to my blog, but it’s in Swedish so I don’t know how much use that would be)
    I really hope and wish that when we actually start, it will feel better than it does now.
    Try to breathe and enjoy getting to know your story and characters now, cause when we get to November I think it will be less time for reflection.

    Would love to know what you’re going to write about, but I guess I’ll just have to wait like everyone else!

    • bubbleboo permalink
      October 4, 2009 16:15

      Thanks – I am so pleased to have you and the other (mad?!) girlies for support and encouragement! I think I should be ok once we get going – it’s just the build-up, isn’t it? Plenty of time to freak out!

      • Amle permalink
        October 4, 2009 16:20

        I’m just so happy to know I’m not alone, it’s a great comfort in having someone else going through the same thing.
        And yes, I do believe we are completely bonkers! 😀

  4. October 4, 2009 16:55

    I’ve never done NaNoWriMo because the timing always seems wrong; it generally coincides with my busiest school months. NaBloPoMo, yes, but that requires fewer words.
    Remind yourself: you’re just after a completed rough draft. You can revise later. Dive in! You have the words.

  5. October 7, 2009 03:00

    Nice! I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?

    • bubbleboo permalink
      October 11, 2009 10:40

      Hi there, thanks for commenting. Yes ok, I would be happy for you to use part of my post. I would appreciate it if you could credit me and link back to my blog though – and leave me the link to your blog too if that’s ok!

  6. October 14, 2009 20:40

    Don’t worry, you’re going to do fine! If needs be, word count cranking up days will come to you ;). Last year I did my catching up on the last days too. Here’s my last year’s progress graph: http://www.abiamy.com/astridparamita/index.php/my-2008-nanowrimo-experience/

    Having friends to write with, kicks you from behind, word wars… You’ll make it. I’ll stay up with you if you need a writing buddy :).

    You can do this!!! I’m also saying this to Amle ;).

Leave a Reply

