Skip to content

Message From a Friend

October 3, 2009

A couple of days ago I received a text message from a very good friend of mine.  At first glance, I thought it was going to be one of those sappy, mushy, send-to-all-your-friends-or-you’ll-die-a-horrible-death-type messages.  And then I read it.  And I laughed – a lot!  And then I sent it on to all my friends.  I wanted to share it with all of you lovely folks too, so here it is:

TRUE FRIENDSHIP – NONE OF THAT SISSY CRAP

1.  When you are sad…I will help you get drunk and plot revenge on the sorry bastard that made you sad.

2.  When you are blue…I will try to dislodge whatever it is that is choking you.

3.  When you smile…I will know that you are thinking of something that I would probably want to be involved in.

4.  When you are sick…Stay the hell away from me until you are well again, I don’t want whatever it is that you have.

5.  When you fall…I will laugh at your clumsy ass, and then help you up.

This is my oath.  ‘Why?’ you may ask.  Because you are my friend.

Send this to 10 friends…then get depressed because you can only think of 4!


So there it is!  Well, I liked it anyway!  Those of you who are familiar with receiving texts like this, will probably be aware that they usually come in ‘text-speak’.  Those of you who are familiar with me, will probably be aware that not only would I not post it here without removing the text-speak and replacing it with proper words, whole sentences and correct grammar – but that I would not forward it by text without doing the same!

Happy Saturday, lovely people – until the next time (which will hopefully be an actual blog post and not another lame excuse for one!).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2009 14:42

    I’ve seen variations on this and, as with this one, they’ve all made me laugh :_) Thanks for helping get my day off to a good start, Hannah!

  2. MysticFirefly permalink
    October 3, 2009 14:49

    Oh that was great!! Thanks for making me smile Hannah!! This is worth forwarding!!

    • Paula permalink
      October 3, 2009 15:06

      Thank you for the laugh, Hannah. what a great way to start a day! :o)

  3. October 3, 2009 18:03

    Love it! Yes, that’s a friend.

  4. tndaisy1960 permalink
    October 3, 2009 19:39

    “I promise to hold your hair out of your way while you puke your guts out after we went out and drank ourselves silly, as long as you promise to do the same fo me”.

    That was included in the version of this that my friend Michelle sent to me, long ago, and for us, it fit perfectly, even though we’ve never had a chance to meet face to face! lol

Leave a Reply

