Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: An Idea Begins to Grow

September 21, 2009
tags:

Ok, well, I’ve only gone and done it. I have signed my life away – well the whole of November, anyway!  I am now officially registered as a participant in this years’ NaNoWriMo – the craziest, most exciting literary event on the planet!  I had a plan, you see.  I had an idea that I wanted to explore.  I had started to roughly sketch out my characters, their motives, the direction in which they may take me.  I had made wonderful plans for research – I even knew what it was that I needed to research.  Yes, things were all coming together very nicely indeed.  Too nicely, as it turns out.

You know what they say about the best laid plans?  There’s a reason for that!  Having advanced well with my preparations, I was feeling pleased with myself – and convinced that I would be prepared to start the writing come November 1.  And I was.  At least, I would have been if I hadn’t just had a new idea.  One of those bolt-from-the-blue, once-in-a-lifetime, fantastic ideas that seem to come out of nowhere and just develop themselves, minimal input required!  The kind of inspiration that is a gift to a writer – except when they are committed to another idea altogether!  So now I was in a dilemma.

Do I,

1)  Do the sensible thing and continue along my chosen path, making a note of my wonderful idea to follow up later once NaNo is done and dusted?

Or do I,

2)  Scrap all the preparation, diligent note taking and research plans to follow this completely new and random story that has popped itself into my brain?

I know what you’re thinking – I’m so OCD there is no way I would go off on a tangent and follow option 2.  It would be complete insanity, and even I am not that dumb…Right?  Wrong!  Did I ever mention that I am a mass of contradictions?  No?  Well, I am!  So I have decided to follow option 2.  I have filed my notes for the original idea away in a notebook, and am now scribbling the new idea down like mad – and scrambling around for the new research I am going to have to do!  The thing is, I just couldn’t ignore the new idea.  It was niggling away at me.  Then, when I ignored it, it became louder and louder until it was screaming at me.  Within the space of five minutes from when I caved in and started to sketch the idea out on paper, I had my character’s names, ages, family set-up, relationships to each other and complete plot outline from start to finish.  This, my friends, is a book that is begging to be written.  Who am I to refuse?

I am, however, slightly concerned with one aspect of writing this book for NaNo.  It is a story that deserves ‘proper’ treatment.  I want to do my characters justice.  I want to tell their story in a way that engages the reader in their lives as much as I am already engaged.  Which is why, once the basic book has been written and submitted, I will edit…edit…and edit some more!  NaNo is my starting point.  It is my characters’ starting point.  But it is not the end.  No matter how long it takes, I will not give up on this project until it is right, the way it is meant to be.  I just hope that doesn’t mean I miss next year’s NaNo in the process!  Anyway, on with the show…I have research to do, notes to write and characters to develop.  I will keep you as updated as I can!  Keep your fingers crossed for me, I could be gone for some time…

nano_09_red_participant_100x100_1

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amle permalink
    September 21, 2009 21:56

    I applaud you! Great! I will keep my fingers crossed

  2. September 21, 2009 22:23

    First—muses tend to be capricious. You did the right thing!
    Second—nothing says this must be the ONLY piece about your characters, right? So go forward with gusto 🙂

  3. September 21, 2009 23:07

    I’m in agreement with David above…and, sometimes you have to just jump into the deep end 🙂 we will be at the shore with cheers (and life preservers) whenever you need.

  4. September 21, 2009 23:30

    I envy your enthusiasm and talent. Go for it!

  5. Gina permalink
    September 22, 2009 00:51

    I know you can do this you have great creativity and a wordsmith to boot.
    Follow your hunch go for it we will be behind you cheering you on and doing whatever we can to help/encourage. Love you lots

  6. Heather permalink
    September 22, 2009 20:35

    Sounds like you might need plenty of note books on hand to get all the inspiration down! Go for it with those stories and those characters and just “go with the flow”. You can always switch between the two if you find you’re feeling a bit “stale”, but just keep writing it all down and go for it!!!!

Leave a Reply

